Civic Duty

I voted. See?

This is the little piece of paper the state of Texas gives you when you vote. So for me it’s all over but the crying. The line this morning wasn’t too bad, only took about 1/2 hour all together.

I strongly suggest you go vote if you haven’t already. No excuses. Don’t want to hear them. STFU & quit complaining. Go do something about it.

I finished up the “frill” on top of BBP’s head last night. (Is she part cockatiel?)

I stitched in the frame (top and right & left sides, but only 33 stitches down) and then put in some grid lines. Even with the grid lines I had to frog a bit, but it was only about 7 stitches all together, not too bad at all. The last silk, Umbria has made its appearance, those 10 stitch lines under the blue frame.

The colors, OMG. Bless her heart, BBP is not a subtle creature.

I most likely going to work on her hair next, hopefully I can wrap that up by Thursday or Friday.

This entry was posted in General Rambling, Mirabilia, Stitching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Civic Duty

  1. Melissa M. says:

    That’s the same sort of codes we give out in California as well. I’ll be working the polls next Tuesday as a clerk and have already gone through my training which involved learning all about issuing the codes and how to reissue codes when necessary. There’s definitely more involved to working the election than I ever realized even though I watched my mom, aunt, & grandmother do it for years and years all through my childhood.

  2. Kim says:

    I live in Texas and voted today, too. But, our line at the polling place went out of the building, and completely down one side of the strip mall! Looks like they’ll have good numbers this year.

  3. Stacey says:

    Looking good Missy!

    I’ve secretly started her as well! I’m currently working on her face! Can’t wait to get to all her beautiful blue hair!

  4. Melissa C. says:

    There’s no nifty “show up and vote early” here. You have to do it by mailed to you absentee ballot only, which I don’t trust. So Will and I will go stand in line after work next week with everyone else. WI is a swing state always (even though we always end up Blue, yay us!) and we have very high voter turnout. So it promises to be a huge clusterf*ck.

    You’re making awesome mermaid progress!

    Oh, and I’m totally up for Sinner Sundays come January.

  5. Just got caught up on all your blogging since Celebrations. I wanna be you. I’m so insanely jealous of all the fabulous quilting, embroidery, and stitching (not to mention finishing) you do. I’d really hate you if you weren’t my friend. Just call me the big green monster!

    I did the early voting thing last week. We don’t get spiffy ticket thingies, just an “I voted” sticker. I was in and out in maybe 10 minutes, but I heard the lines yesterday were already an hour long. Can’t imagine what election day will bring.

    Your Crabby makes me want to start mine now instead of waiting for Jan 1. I love it!

  6. Sonda in OR says:

    I’ll be mailing my ballot tomorrow. The mermaid crown looks lovely.

Leave a comment